A Reflection on My First Semester Exams

The week beginning of 9th January I took my first semester exams, mammalian anatomy and physiology, introduction to biomechanics and animal management plus my mock OSPEs. These exams made me nervous as they were the first major exams since starting university and l wanted to do well.

However, I tried to ensure that l was fully prepared. I made sure I attended the extra revision sessions and completed the given revision material. It was especially true for biomechanics, as I felt this made a positive impact on my results. This is because I had a better idea of what questions would come up and how to answer them as researched by Glaser and Brunstein (2007).

On the other hand, I struggled more with the animal management exam. The main revision I received was from the lecture notes, apart from a few questions on moodle. One reason for this is that no model answers were given for these questions, which made it difficult to revise from. It would have been helpful to see what a more in-depth answer would look like to me prepare more thoroughly.   Apart from this, I still I achieved above my expectations.

Lam (2012) states that formative assessments have been shown to improve grades. Therefore, next time I will make sure I create my own formative assessments, through examples like flashcards as they are an effective revision tool as stated by Patil and Iyer (2016).

Overall, I was very satisfied with my results; therefore, I know that I must have used some effective revision techniques. In the future, I know to achieve high grades I need to maintain my current techniques as well as trying new ones. This is to ensure that I’m revising in the most effective manner so that my grades continue to improve according to Ferris (1997).

References

Ferris, D. (1997) ‘The Influence of Teacher Commentary on Student Revision’. [online] TESOL Quarterly, 31(2) p.315. [Accessed on 15 February 2017] http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.2307/3588049/full.

Glaser, C. and Brunstein, J. (2007) ‘Improving fourth-grade students’ composition skills: Effects of strategy instruction and self-regulation procedures.’. [online] Journal of Educational Psychology, 99(2) pp.297-310. [Accessed on 16 February 2017] http://psycnet.apa.org/journals/edu/99/2/297/.

Lam, R. (2012) ‘Formative Use of Summative Tests: Using Test Preparation to Promote Performance and Self-Regulation’. [online] The Asia-Pacific Education Researcher, 22(1) pp.69-78. [Accessed on 16 February 2017] https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s40299-012-0026-0.

Patil, R. and Iyer, P. (2016) ‘Perceptions of Undergraduate Medical Students on Use of Flashcards as a Mode of Learning Anatomy’. National Journal of Integrated Research in Medicine, 7(2) p.110.

Leave a Reply

