A Reflection on the First Semester of Principles of Animal Management

During the first semester, I received lectures on the principles of animal management. This was to increase my overall understanding of the basic care for livestock, equine, companion and therapy animals.

The learning was a combination of practical sessions and lectures, which I felt gave me a more balanced understanding of the subject. By learning in this way, I find that I obtain a greater understanding of being able to apply my knowledge. Evidence has proven this, as people with language impairments have been shown to perform at a lower level than people without. However, in practical exams, there is no difference between the pass rates which has been shown when taking a driving test, which has been stated by Durkin et al. (2016).

However, I wasn’t able to achieve practical experience for the whole subject due to the large quantity of information being shown to us, in the amount of time given. This didn’t limit my understanding or being able to apply it. Although, I did struggle to recall specific figures or facts, for example, the amount of milk each cow produces.

I believe the main reason for this, is because I find facts about equine easier to recall. This is because I’ve had more experience in equine over a longer period than the other areas. Therefore, I’ve learnt from long term questioning to add to my knowledge. King (1992) has also confirmed this.

Next time, I know that in order to remember the information, I need to gather more practical experience and question information more to be able to aid my retention. Therefore in future, I will read more journal articles and make notes during this process. This will aid and support me in building stronger foundations in my knowledge. Consequently, making it easier to bridge the gap when I find something challenging. As Burrows et al. (2001) states that this is an important way in order to improve knowledge and understanding.

 

 

References

Burrows, V., McNeill, B., Hubele, N. and Bellamy, L. (2001) ‘Statistical Evidence for Enhanced Learning of Content through Reflective Journal Writing’. [online] Journal of Engineering Education, 90(4) pp.661-667. [Accessed on 21 January 2017] http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/j.2168-9830.2001.tb00657.x/full.

Durkin, K., Toseeb, U., Pickles, A., Botting, N. and Conti-Ramsden, G. (2016) ‘Learning to Drive in Young Adults With Language Impairment’. [online] Transportation Research Part F: Traffic Psychology and Behaviour, 42(1) pp.195–204. [Accessed on 21 January 2017] http://ac.els-cdn.com/S136984781630208X/1-s2.0-S136984781630208X-main.pdf?_tid=15f45880-dfc3-11e6-b7de-00000aab0f02&acdnat=1484994146_7af177eb725a4e6d3ddc5ba6e6536106.

King, A. (1992) ‘Comparison of Self-Questioning, Summarizing, and Notetaking-Review as Strategies for Learning from Lectures’. [online] American Educational Research Journal, 29(2) p.303. [Accessed on 21 January 2017] http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/pdf/10.3102/00028312029002303.

2 thoughts on “A Reflection on the First Semester of Principles of Animal Management

  1. Having read this reflection, I think your reflecting skills are really good. You have properly assessed the situation and gone into detail about how you can improve for the next semester by getting more practical experience. You have also used a lot of journals to back up the points you have made which really enhance the reflection. I also like the layout of your portfolio, it is easy to use and a simple design!

    Like

  2. I love the layout of your website and the colours! it looks very appealing to read and is easy to find each section. This reflection really intrigued me and was very interesting to read. I like the fact you admitted the lack of practical experience and how you want to gain more. The reflection flowed well and has a lot of references which is good. It shows your reflective writing is at a high standard and you can find things to back up what you are writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

