A Reflection on My Mock OSPE

In preparation for my OSPE exam in May, I took part in a mock exam. This was to enable me to have a better understanding of it. I was nervous and anxious beforehand, as I have never had an exam formatted in this manner before. This gave me a high chance of making mistakes. People that suffer from test anxiety are more likely to do worse than those that don’t, as confirmed by von der Embse et al. (2012). By completing a mock OSPE it allowed me to see the format, which will make me feel less anxious about the real exam. Evans et al. (2013) also found this out in their research. As failure is more likely to help a person learn, as they are able to use it to reflect upon.

Some people in business call failure “entrepreneurial failure” (Yamakawa and Cardon, 2014), however under the Oxford Dictionary failure is stated as three things; “lack of success”, to not complete a compulsory target, or for a state or action not to function. These actions can be represented in and outside the business. Therefore can be dealt with, in similar ways by amending from their mistakes. It has been proven that mistakes can be learned upon according to Pink and Dodson (2013).

In May when I complete my official OSPE, I will be able to remember the mistakes that caused me to fail. Using resilience and determination to succeed, I can use my feedback as soon as possible to practise my canine and equine handling skills. When I’m able to practise, I can also ask someone to watch me beforehand and provide me with constructive feedback so that I continue to improve and gain confidence. As Itmeizeh (2016) states that peer feedback reduces errors and help with my nervousness. I found my nervousness were the root cause for my failure. Drummond and Mirco (2004) have found that by staring at someone’s face it causes increased blood flow to that area of the face. By repeated exposure, I will reduce my anxiety because I will become more confident. Meaning that it will be easier for me to ignore that someone is watching me. As I will gain a deeper knowledge of what is expected, therefore reducing the time it takes for my nerves to get the better of me. Also proven by Foa et al. (1999).

 

 

References

Drummond, P. and Mirco, N. (2004) ‘Staring at one side of the face increases blood flow on that side of the face’. [online] Psychophysiology, 41(2) p.281. [Accessed on 26 January 2017] http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1469-8986.2004.00151.x/full.

Evans, D., Zeun, P. and Stanier, R. (2013) ‘Motivating student learning using a formative assessment journey’. [online] Journal of Anatomy, 224(3) pp.296-303. [Accessed on 22 January 2017] http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/joa.12117/full.

Foa, E., Dancu, C., Hembree, E., Jaycox, L., Meadows, E. and Street, G. (1999) ‘A comparison of exposure therapy, stress inoculation training, and their combination for reducing posttraumatic stress disorder in female assault victims.’. [online] Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, 67(2) p.194. [Accessed on 26 January 2017] http://psycnet.apa.org/journals/ccp/67/2/194/.

Itmeizeh, M. (2016) ‘Impact of Peer Correction on Reducing English Language Students’ Mistakes in Their Written Essays in PAUC and Learners’ Attitudes towards This Technique’. [online] Theory and Practice in Language Studies, 6(11) p.1. [Accessed on 23 January 2017] http://search.proquest.com/openview/b319c0fa2daeeff90aec17bdfb8242c5/1?pq-origsite=gscholar&cbl=2026476.

Pink, J. and Dodson, C. (2013) ‘Negative prospective memory: Remembering not to perform an action’. [online] Psychonomic Bulletin & Review, 20(1) p.1. [Accessed on 23 January 2017] http://link.springer.com/article/10.3758/s13423-012-0337-4.

Tugade, M. and Fredrickson, B. (2004) ‘Resilient Individuals Use Positive Emotions to Bounce Back From Negative Emotional Experiences.’. [online] Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 86(2) p.320. [Accessed on 25 January 2017] http://psycnet.apa.org/journals/psp/86/2/320/.

von der Embse, N., Barterian, J. and Segool, N. (2012) ‘Test Anxiety Interventions for Children and Adolescents: A Systematic Review of Treatment Studies from 2000-2010’. [online] Psychology in the Schools, 50(1) pp.57-71. [Accessed on 22 January 2017] http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/pits.21660/full.

Yamakawa, Y. and Cardon, M. (2014) ‘Causal ascriptions and perceived learning from entrepreneurial failure’. [online] Small Business Economics, 44(4) pp.797-820. [Accessed on 23 January 2017] http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s11187-014-9623-z.

4 thoughts on “A Reflection on My Mock OSPE

  1. Brilliant reflection! Very concise yet you manage to include lots of references and explain your experience well. You also have a plan of action for your official OSPE, showing that you have learnt from the experience which is the aim of reflection. I would suggest reading through it again however, as you have missed out a full stop – this is a minor adjustment though. Great work!

    Like

  2. This is a really nice reflection, I like how honest you have been, and taken any failures as a learning opportunity, it is clear that you have taken on board feedback, and are putting in lots of effort in order to improve. As for your site overall, it is very well laid out, with a really eye catching homepage, I liked how personal the home page was. A lovely blog, well done!

    Like

  3. Jessica Moreton

    This is a really good reflection looking into what you need to learn to deal with, and being positive about. I really enjoyed the part about failures and your attitude towards failure; although I felt this took up slightly too much of the reflection. Otherwise I really enjoy your blog, I really like the layout of the website and the gallery!

    Like

Leave a Reply

